Women’s World Cup Qualifying Group Stage Guide

Written by Bilal Munsif

The group stage of the European qualification for the 2023 Women’s World Cup kicks off on September 16, 2021.


Table of contents

  1. The second group will participate in the UEFA play-offs in October 2022
  2. Qualifying Round Groups
  3. Dates
  4. UEFA Play-offs
  5. Hosts: 2 (Australia, New Zealand)
  6. Interconfederal Play-offs
  7. Places by Continent

The group stage of the European qualification for the FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 will take place between 16 September 2021 and 6 September 2022.

Firstly the 51 participating teams (a record) are divided into six groups of six teams and three of five. They compete for nine direct places in the final phase, as well as for the possibility of fighting in the play-offs for three European places and for another vacancy in the inter-conference play-offs, which like the final phase will be held in Australia and New Zealand.

The winners of the nine qualifying groups will advance directly to the finals in Australia and New Zealand from July 20 to August 20, 2023.

The second group will participate in the UEFA play-offs in October 2022

The three best seconds will be seeded and go to round 2 of these playoffs. The remaining six seconds will play three single-match ties in round 1.

The three winners of round 1 and the three teams that go directly to round 2 will then play a single-game tie. They will be determined by lottery.

The two highest-ranked play-off winners (based on the results of the qualifying group stage and round 2 play-offs) will qualify for the final tournament.

The winner of the remaining tie will compete in the Australia and New Zealand Inter-Confederate Play-offs from February 17-23, 2023.

Qualifying Round Groups

Women’s World Cup Qualifying Group

Group A: Sweden, Finland, Republic of Ireland, Slovakia, Georgia

Group B: Spain, Scotland, Ukraine, Hungary, Faroe Islands

Group C: Netherlands, Iceland, Czech Republic, Belarus, Cyprus

Group D: England, Austria, Northern Ireland, North Macedonia, Latvia, Luxembourg

Group E: Denmark, Russia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Azerbaijan, Malta, Montenegro

Group F: Norway, Belgium, Poland, Albania, Kosovo, Armenia

Group G: Italy, Switzerland, Romania, Croatia, Moldova, Lithuania

Group H: Germany, Portugal, Serbia, Israel, Turkey, Bulgaria

Group I: France, Wales, Slovenia, Greece, Kazakhstan, Estonia

Germany wants to add another win to their 2003 and 2007 titles.

Norway was the other European world champion in 1995.

The Netherlands were runners-up in 2019.

Cyprus makes its debut in a women’s World Cup.

Luxembourg is participating in a qualifying group stage for the first time.

Participating in the 2022 UEFA European Women’s Championship from July 6 to 31: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, England (host), Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Netherlands (champion), Northern Ireland, Norway, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.


The group stage of qualification

16–21 September 2021

21–26 October 2021

25–30 November 2021

23 February 2022

7–12 April 2022

23–28 June 2022

1–6 September 2022

UEFA Play-offs

3–11 October 2022

Squares by continents

Hosts: 2 (Australia, New Zealand)

AFC: 5

CAF: 4



UEFA: 11

Inter-Federation Play-offs: 3

Interconfederal Play-offs

A ten-team tournament will be held in Australia and New Zealand to decide the last three finalist teams from February 17-23, 2023.

Places by Continent

AFC: 2

CAF: 2



OFC: 1

UEFA: 1 In conclusion, the teams are divided into three groups, two of three teams and one of four, the division being decided based on the FIFA ranking. The three groups will play as separate competitions with playoffs in which the winner of each group qualifying for the finals. In the groups of three teams, the seeded team will go straight to the final (after playing a friendly against Australia or New Zealand), and will face the winner of the semifinal between the other two teams.

About the author

Bilal Munsif

Leave a Comment